Posted by: lzlangdon | September 14, 2010

Why I Haven’t Been Posting Lately

one day's harvest in September

In early September I'm harvesting daily, and this is one day's harvest.

Seriously. This is what I was hauling out of the garden every evening in late August and early September.

It’s that time of year when I resent every daylight hour I have to spend at the office, because it’s another hour I don’t have free to spend harvesting goodies out of the garden. It’s a tremendous irony to me that all spring and summer I put hours and hours into the garden to make it grow, and everything comes ripe just as the days are getting shorter, and it’s harder and harder to get everything picked in the evenings after work.

So I spend every free daylight hour picking, and my remaining waking hours I spend washing, blanching, freezing, dehydrating, pickling, or bagging up to give away to friends and neighbors.

It’s a blast to see my garden paying off such a bountiful harvest. I honestly feel like Mother Nature has redeemed herself after last year’s destruction. But I’m also a bit happy to see the days shortening and some of the plants reaching the end of their cycles so I can begin to slow down again–and so I can catch up on my posts!

There’s a lot more to tell about the last few weeks in the garden, and hopefully I’ll get caught up soon. Thanks for waiting!


Leave a comment

Categories