Posted by: lzlangdon | November 25, 2010

Thanksgiving

Today I’m thankful for a garden that is the foundation of my holiday meal. I’m a little surprised, but produce from my garden is playing a central role in tonight’s Thanksgiving dinner.

I just dug the potatoes for mashed potatoes this morning. Same for the carrots that are stuffed in the turkey cavity and diced to roast in the pan juices. The onions throughout the meal are from the bag stored in the garage. On the shelf next to the onions are the butternut squash that I’m serving roasted with vanilla and walnuts. And for dessert, cherry pie made with that last bag of frozen cherries.

I’m glad I worked so hard this summer, I’m proud that I preserved so much of mother nature’s bounty, and I’m grateful, so grateful for my immeasurable wealth.


Leave a comment

Categories